top of page
Search
roisinspence14

COP 26.

I decided to volunteer at the Cop 26 march in Glasgow because I am a vegan and an environmental activist. Returning from this visit, I was reminded of all the damage towards the environment the fashion industry is responsible for. This made me want to be as sustainable as possible in all of my work. I then decided to make my final garment all from recycled wetsuits. I chose wetsuits because I wanted the garment to be neoprene and I had access to a couple of used wetsuits. I knew that it would be extra work patching all the suits together but it was worth it.


(patching the wetsuits together)


When I was in Glasgow I also visited Lucy Orta's exhibition at the GSA, which showed garments that were drawn on by GSA students, her exhibition was all about protests and climate change. This inspired me to wear my toile shirt to one of the marches and let people write on it to say why they attended the march. I then used this garment as a main source of primary research for the second part of the uniform project. I was going to develop the text on the garment, however, I think I will used it in the next semester because it is more textile related.


(toile that was drawn on by activists)


Overall, attending the COP26 march inspired me to be a more responsible designer. It also gave me more motivation towards my work as it felt more purposeful because it was sustainable.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page